Skip navigation


Following the abolition in 1985 of an annual head tax of CI$10 on all adult male residents up to 60 years, there are no direct taxes in the Cayman Islands. There is no income tax, company or corporation tax, inheritance tax, capital gains or gift tax.

There are no property taxes or rates, and no controls on the foreign ownership of property and land.

The government charges stamp duty of 6 per cent (in most areas, but 7.5 per cent in a few) on the value of real estate at sale, with reduced rates available for Caymanians. There is a 1 per cent fee payable on mortgages of less than CI$300,000, and 1 1/2 per cent on mortgages of CI$300,000 or higher.

Last Updated: 2011-02-25