Skip navigation

Cayman Islands Government

You are here: Homepage > About Government

See Also: Annual Reports | Gazettes | Human Rights | Constitution

  • Form of Government

    The Cayman Islands is a parliamentary democracy with judicial, executive and legislative branches.

  • The Judicial Branch

    Justice is administered at three levels - in the Summary Court (including the Youth Court), the Grand Court and the Court of Appeal.

  • Role of the Governor

    Appointed by Her Majesty's Government, the Governor presides over the meetings of Cabinet and the Advisory Committee on the Prerogative of Mercy, but is a member of neither. The Governor also chairs the National Security Council.

  • Governors and Predecessors

    A list of the persons who have served the Islands from 1750 to the present as Chief Magistrates, Commissioners, Administrators and Governors.

  • Heads of the Civil Service
  • A list of the persons who have served as Heads of the Civil Service, along with key milestones from their tenure.

  • The Cabinet

    The Cabinet is composed of the Premier, six other Ministers and two non-voting ex-officio members.

  • The Legislative Assembly

    The 18 elected members of the Assembly represent the Islands' six districts. There are two non-voting ex-officio members.

  • Order of Precedence

    If I'm going to greet Government officials in a speech, in what order do I mention them? If there's only room for eight at the head table, who should sit there? Knowing the protocol will help.

  • Jobs

    Cayman Islands Government job opportunities.

Fast Facts

Her Excellency The Governor
Mrs Helen Kilpatrick, CB
Hon. Alden M McLaughlin Jr., MBE, JP, MLA
President of the Court of Appeals
Rt Hon. Sir John Chadwick
Chief Justice
Hon Anthony Smellie, QC, JP
Speaker of the House
Hon. Juliana O'Connor-Connolly, JP, MLA
Deputy Governor
Hon. Franz Manderson, Cert. Hon.
Deputy Premier
Hon. Moses Kirkconnell, JP, MLA
Attorney General
Hon. Samuel Bulgin, JP