Skip navigation

Cayman Islands Government

The Judicial Branch

The Judicial Branch The Cayman Islands has a chief justice, three full time judges, three part time judges, three magistrates and over 140 justices of the peace, some of whom serve as lay magistrates.

The governor appoints magistrates, judges, and the chief justice on the advice of the Judicial and Legal Services Commission, a body formed by the 2009 Constitution.

Justice in the Cayman Islands is administered at three levels - in the Summary Court (including the Youth, Juvenile and Drug Rehabilitation courts), the Grand Court and the Court of Appeal.

The Juvenile Court has general jurisdiction to try all summary offences committed by juveniles under 17 years of age.

The Summary Court has a civil and criminal jurisdiction. ne magistrate normally exercises jurisdiction, although provision is made for two lay justices of the peace to preside in some circumstances. Coroner's inquests are held in Summary Court where a magistrate sits with a jury as coroner for the Islands. Appeals from the Summary Court lie to the Grand Court.

The Grand Court is a superior court of record and administers the common law and the law of equity of England, as well as locally enacted laws and applied laws. A dedicated financial services division of the Grand Court opened in November 2009.

Appeals from the Grand Court lie to the Cayman Islands Court of Appeal, composed of a president and not less than two judges of appeal. Further appeal lies, in certain circumstances, to the Judicial Committee of the Privy Council in London.

For further information, visit

Last Updated: 2012-10-31



The Judicial Branch
 The Judicial Branch This item appears on page Judicial Branch