Skip navigation

The Legislative Assembly

See also: Legislature (MLAs)

The Legislative Assembly Currently the 18 elected members of the Legislative Assembly represent the Islands' six districts, six from George Town, four from West Bay, four from Bodden Town, two from Cayman Brac and Little Cayman, and one each from North Side and East End.  The membership of the Legislative Assembly also includes the Deputy Governor and the Attorney General as non-voting ex-officio members.

The Speaker is the presiding member at sittings of the Legislative Assembly, and can either be an elected Member of the Legislative Assembly who is not a Minister, or a person qualified to be an elected Member of the Legislative Assembly.

The Governor must dissolve the Assembly four years after its first meeting, unless it has been dissolved sooner, and a general election must be held within two months of dissolution.

Last Updated: 2014-08-20


The Legislative Assembly
 The Legislative Assembly This item appears on page Legislative Assembly