Skip navigation

Six Join HSA Board

Minister of Health and Human Services, the Hon. Anthony Eden, OBE, JP, recently announced the appointment of six members of the Cayman Islands business community to the Health Services Authority (HSA) Board in keeping with a fresh approach to the Board's governance responsibilities.

Effective 01 September 2008, Mrs Patricia Muschette, Ms Krishan Welcome, and Messrs Canover Watson, David Shibli, and Eddie Ebanks were appointed to serve one-year terms. The sixth appointee, Dr Delroy Jefferson, served for four months, and functioned as deputy chairman, with the special assignment of orientating the Board to a new model of governance. The Board and the Ministry are pleased with the results of this intervention, and the Hon. Minister has noted his thanks to Dr. Jefferson and the Board.

The Hon. Minister also indicated that during this meeting he will be moving the HSA (Amendment) Bill, 2009 before the LA, which will propose changes in Board composition and eligibility for appointment to strengthen the governance model.

HSA Board Appointee Bios

Ms Krishan Welcome: A qualified attorney, Ms Welcome is currently an associate with Walkers' finance division. After graduating with distinction from the University of Nottingham, she completed her professional training with Walkers and was admitted as a Cayman Islands attorney in April 2005. Both athletic and civic minded, Ms. Welcome has represented the Cayman Islands in netball and football, and is a Sunday school teacher at the Bodden Town United Church.

Mrs Patricia Muschette: Currently the human resources manager at Boatswain's Beach, Mrs Muschette is a HR specialist with accounting experience. Although she is pursuing additional qualifications, she maintains her membership with the Business and Professional Women's Club and is undergoing special constable training with the Royal Cayman Islands Police Service.

Mr Canover Watson: A certified public accountant, Mr Watson has also been Admiral Administration Ltd's managing director since 2002. He serves on several boards and committees, including the Business Staffing Plan Board, the Human Rights Committee, and the Cayman Islands Football Association Executive Committee. His extensive management, accounting, and investment background will be an asset to the board (also past winner of the YCLA award).

Mr David Shibli: Director of Information Technology (IT) with Cayman Airways Ltd, Mr Shibli is a qualified electrical and electronics engineer who ran his own IT consultancy before joining the airline. He also served as a systems engineer and database administrator at CUC for four years. His engineering and IT expertise will enhance the authority's IT systems.

Mr Eddie Ebanks: A well-known business owner, Mr Ebanks is also active in the community as a Lions International life-member and a Melvin Jones Fellow (the Lions Club International's highest form of recognition to acknowledge dedication to humanitarian service). He previously served on the Health Services Authority Board, at its inception in 2002.

Dr Delroy Jefferson: A former Chief Medical Officer of Faith Hospital, Dr Jefferson is a well-known physician who has held several senior management positions with the Health Services Authority. Following his recent completion of a master's degree in public policy and management from the University of London, he now functions as consultant anaesthetist and pain specialist with the Authority.

Source: Ministry of Health and Human Services

For further information contact: Kenisha Morgan