Skip navigation

Swearing In on Wednesday

HE the Governor will appoint West Bay MLA and United Democratic Party (UDP) leader, Mr McKeeva Bush, Leader of Government Business.

For the first time, the steps of the LA become the venue for the swearing in of all the newly elected MLAs and Cabinet Ministers on Wednesday, 27 May.

Details of the public function were provided by Clerk of the Legislative Assembly Wendy Lauer and Deputy Leader-designate and West Bay MLA Rolston Anglin.

The swearing in starts promptly at 10 a.m., and Ms Lauer asks all invitees and the public to be seated by 9.30 a.m.

Following the National Anthem and National Song, MLAs will be sworn in before His Excellency the Governor, Mr Stuart Jack, CVO, on a specially constructed dais on the LA steps. After the Governor speaks, the ceremonies move inside the Chamber of the House, where MLAs take their seats.

The Clerk will then call for nominating the Father of the House who will preside and call for nominations for the Speaker of the House, Mr Anglin said. After the Speaker is elected, the House adjourns briefly for the Speaker to be robed and wigged and then to return to preside over the House.

The first order of business for the Speaker is to call for the nominations for Deputy Speaker, followed by nominations for five Elected Ministers to the Cabinet, Ms Lauer said.

During the suspension of the House, the newly chosen Ministers will take their Oaths of Allegiance or Affirmation from the Governor in front of the people outside. This will be followed by the Governor appointing West Bay MLA and United Democratic Party (UDP) leader, Mr McKeeva Bush, as Leader of Government Business, and George Town MLA and leader of the People's Progressive Party (PPM), Mr Kurt Tibbetts, as Leader of the Opposition, Ms Lauer said.

Then comes a break. The public can enjoy light refreshments, and music provided by the George Hicks High School Swing Band, said Mr Anglin.

After the break, the proceedings move back inside the House Chamber where the MLAs will elect members of the Public Accounts Committee, the Register of Interests Committee; the Standing Business Committee and the Standing House Committee; as well as select committees on Privileges and to oversee the performance of the Complaints Commissioner.

The call for the adjournment of the House follows at which time all MLAs will have the opportunity to speak for the first time in the new House, Mr Anglin noted.

The proceedings are to be broadcast live by CITN and Radio Cayman. Members of the public outside will also be able to see on giant television monitors to be set up outside the House the proceedings taking place inside the chamber.

For further information contact: Bina Mani