Skip navigation

Vienna Moot

From left: CILS lecturer Andrew Woodcock, Silvia Powery and Scott Jones outside the Vienna Law School where the moot took place.

The Cayman Islands Law School moot team has recently returned from competing in the Annual Willem C. Vis International Commercial Arbitration Moot in Vienna, Austria. The team comprised of Silvia Powery, Alia Khan, Scott Jones, Bryan Little and Elkie Rose. Also accompanying the team was Law School lecturer, Mr. Andrew Woodcock.

The Vis Moot is a forum used to educate and encourage the use of international commercial arbitration as a method of alternative dispute resolution, more specifically, for the resolution of international commercial disputes. Students were required to research the law on international commercial contract disputes, and then present oral arguments before panels of three arbitrators in Vienna.

In attendance at the competition were two hundred and thirty three teams from around the world, consisting of law schools such as Harvard, the University of London and Monash Univesity. The Cayman Islands Law School, being the smallest school in attendance competed against law schools from countries as far ranging as Denmark, Bosnia and Herzegovenia and Lithuania. The Cayman Islands Law School was the smallest law school in attendance, yet received very favourable comments on both the written submissions and the oral argument. One judge from the United States commented that "This is the NFL of mooting, and you have shown you deserve to be here."

From left: Alia Khan, Elkie Rose and Bryan Little, outside the Vienna Law School where the moot took place.

The competition was won by Victoria University of Wellington, New Zealand.

Mr Mitchell Davies, Director of the Law School said "It is particularly pleasing to see students from the Cayman Islands Law School demonstrating to the rest of the world the quality of legal education which is being produced on this island."

The team would like to acknowledge the generous support of the Cayman Islands Law Society, the Caymanian Bar Association, Maples and Calder, Solomon Harris and Appleby lawyers, through their establishment of the Jonathon Tarboton Gratitude Fund, established for the funding of international mooting at the Law School.