Skip navigation

Chasing Victory

Cayman Brac's Shannon Crew leaps for gold during the girls division 4 long jump finals.

Following a week of spirited track and field competition Red Bay Primary School leapt, threw and ran its way to victory as the 2010 Inter-Primary School Sports champions.

Just 8.5 points ahead of John A. Cumber Primary, Red Bay's position was sealed after a faulty baton exchange during the meet-culminating 4x100 metre relay.

Education Minister, the Hon. Rolston Anglin, JP, shares a few words with the John A. Cumber team.

Fifteen primary and prep schools, including a contingent from Cayman Brac, fielded their best and strongest for Friday's (19 March) grand finale.

Savannah Primary's supporters cheer their athletes

Prior to the day's events participants were greeted and encouraged by Sports Minister, the Hon. Mark Scotland; Education Minister, the Hon. Rolston Anglin, JP; Chief Education Officer Shirley Wahler; and Director of Sports Collin Anglin.

Leader of the Opposition, the Hon. Kurt Tibbetts, JP; Bodden Town MLA Anthony Eden, OBE, JP; Education Ministry Deputy Chief Officer Christen Suckoo; and Cayman Islands Athletics Association President Rayal Roberts were also in attendance.

George Town Primary's Paula Edwards won her 100 metre heat.

Final Point Standings


  1. Red Bay Primary - 328
  2. John A. Cumber Primary - 319.5
  3. Prospect Primary - 280
  4. George Town Primary - 198.5
  5. Savannah Primary - 185
  6. Bodden Town Primary - 147.5
  7. Triple C. School - 51
  8. East End Primary - 45
  9. Cayman Brac contingent - 33.5
  10. Cayman International School - 16
  11. North Side Primary - 12
  12. Cayman Prep School - 11
  13. St. Ignatius Prep School - 3
  14. Grace Christian Academy - 1
  15. Lighthouse School - 1

Schools with less than 150 enrolled students also qualified for a small schools award. East End Primary placed first in that category and Cayman Brac took second place.

Source: Inter-Primary Sports Meet Director Harcourt Wason.


For further information contact: Kenisha Morgan