Skip navigation

Boundary Commission at Work

The new Electoral Boundary Commission (EBC) of the Cayman Islands held its first meeting on Friday, 9 April, and invites public participation in the process of reviewing current electoral districts and creating new ones.

Following the adoption of the new Cayman Islands Constitution last November, the EBC was formed in accordance with Section 88 of the document. The Commission is chaired by Mr. Carl Dundas, with Mr. Norman Bodden, OBE, JP and Ms Adriannie Webb, JP as members.

Included in the agenda of last Friday's meeting were discussions of its terms of reference, and an outline of the activities to be undertaken.

The EBC's main duty is to review the electoral district boundaries and make recommendations regarding the proposal for an 18-member legislature (three more MLAs than at present). This report will be presented to the Governor by the end of May, and then tabled in the Legislative Assembly.

The chairman invites public participation and encourages written or oral submissions relating to electoral district boundaries until Friday, 7 May.

All registered voters, and persons who are qualified to be registered as voters, can make submissions. In keeping with the EBC's approach of transparency, the Commission prefers to receive signed submissions, but it will also accept anonymous contributions.

Written submissions may be mailed to: Electoral Boundary Commission, c/o Elections Office, P.O. Box 10120, Grand Cayman KY1 -1001, Cayman Islands. They may also be hand-delivered to: The Elections Office, Smith Road Centre, 150 Smith Road (2nd Floor); or emailed to:

Oral submissions will require a person to make an appointment to meet with the Commission.

For further information, contact the Elections Office at 949-8047.

NOTE: This link will take you to the Cayman Constitution website, where you can review the report and recommendations of the 2003 Electoral Boundary Commission.

For further information contact: Lennon Christian