Skip navigation

Finance Committee at Work

Finance Committee: Flanked by Financial Secretary, Mr. Kenneth Jefferson, JP (left) and Clerk of the LA, Ms. Zena Merren-Chin, the Hon. Premier, Mr. McKeeva Bush, OBE, JP, chairs budget discussions for the first time as Finance Minister.

As Finance Minister, the Hon. Premier, Mr. W. McKeeva Bush, OBE, JP, is chairing Finance Committee for the first time since the new Constitution changed the committee's composition.

Following the MLAs debating of the Throne Speech and the Budget Address, the committee began deliberations yesterday (Monday, 21 June) to examine and vote on the budget provisions contained in the Appropriation (July 2010 to June 2011) Bill.

Together with the previous Chairman, Financial Secretary Mr. Kenneth Jefferson, JP, and Clerk of the Legislative Assembly Ms. Zena Merren-Chin, Mr. Bush moderates MLAs' discussions and voting on the line items of the bill.

Once the bill is passed by the committee, a final vote will be taken in the legislature to approve the budget before 30 June.


For further information contact: Bina Mani