Skip navigation

New Local Honours

Some of the awards proposed under the Order of the Cayman Islands.

The Hon. Premier, Mr. W. McKeeva Bush, OBE, JP, has taken another step towards establishing the Order of the Cayman Islands, following gazettal on Wednesday 16 June.

The National Honours and Awards Bill, 2010, which seeks to recognise distinguished service to the Cayman Islands community, now awaits assent from the House.

Under the bill's provisions, the Premier, as Chancellor, will be advised by a National Honours and Awards Committee on granting three main categories of awards selected from public nominations.

He is to consult with the Leader of the Opposition before appointing five persons of integrity and high national standing as chairman and committee members.

Highest among the awards, the Medal of Honour is proposed with three categories: Commander, Officer and Member. To be eligible, a person should have "rendered eminent service of national importance to the Islands or [should have] performed an outstanding, brave or humane act to a national of the Islands or other country."

Persons who have meritoriously served Cayman for many years in the arts, science, literature or other fields are to be considered for the Medal of Merit. This category contains both gold and silver awards.

The last classification proposes the recognition of long-serving civil servants, excepting the police, special constabulary, prison and fire services. Diligent service with exemplary conduct for 20 years or more comprise the eligibility criteria for this award.

The bill provides for honourees to place their titles' abbreviations after their names.

These honours, all of which may also be granted posthumously, will neither interfere with any granted by the Queen, the Governor or Cabinet, nor will they supersede any award bestowed by Her Majesty.


For further information contact: Bina Mani