Skip navigation


2011 Public Holidays

Public Hoildays 2011

The Deputy Governor's Office has confirmed all public holidays for 2011.

Christmas Day in 2011 will be observed as a holiday on Monday, 26 December since the actual day falls on a Sunday.

Consequently, Boxing Day holiday will be observed on Tuesday, 27 December, explains Corporate Manager in the Deputy Governor's office, Mrs. Christine Wright.

The Queen's Birthday holiday is now confirmed for Monday,13 June. The holiday is observed locally on the Monday following the Saturday designated as the official observance in the UK.

Her Majesty's actual birthday is 21 April but the day is officially celebrated in the UK on a Saturday in June with a number of public events.

Cayman's public holidays for 2011are:

Monday, 3 January - New Year's Day;

Monday, 24 January - National Heroes' Day;

Wednesday, 9 March - Ash Wednesday;

Friday, 22 April - Good Friday;

Monday, 25 April - Easter Monday;

Monday, 16 May - Discovery Day;

Monday, 13 June - Queen's Birthday;

Monday, 4 July - Constitution Day;

Monday, 14 November - Remembrance Day;

Monday, 26 December - Christmas Day observed (since 25 December is a Sunday)

Tuesday, 27 December - Boxing Dayobserved (since 26 December falls on the Monday already being observed as Christmas Day)

(GIS)

For further information contact: Bina Mani