Skip navigation

Excellence Rewarded

Scholarship Awards: A member of the National Women's Under 17 Football Team display her scholarship cheque.

Ten members of the National Women's Under 17 Football Team, the first Caymanian football team ever to reach a CONCACAF final, were rewarded with scholarship grants of CI$1,000 from the Cayman Islands Government recently.

The players, all of whom have either completed high school or begun tertiary studies, participated in the CONCACAF 2010 World Cup Qualifier final round against the USA, Costa Rica and Haiti earlier this year.

Premier, the Hon. McKeeva Bush announced the scholarship awards at a luncheon he hosted in the team's honour following their return from the CONCACAF qualifier.

On hand to collect their cheques were Emily Kelly, Xotchilt Watler, Ashley Bord and Shanice Monteith. Chelsea Bush, Ashani Francis, Brittney Mobley, Alyssa Chin, Briana Hydes and Shenel Gall are all away at school. Their cheques were presented to their parents.

Wishing the young women well in their future endeavours Premier Bush noted, "It is important that the team is rewarded for representing the Cayman Islands with such an excellent showing in the CONCACAF finals."

Other team members who participated in the qualifiers will receive scholarship cheques at a later date.

For further information contact: Kenisha Morgan