Skip navigation

Service Recognition

His Excellency the Governor, Mr. Duncan Taylor, CBE, receives the Royal Salute from the Royal Cayman Islands Police Service's Guard of Honour.

A number of officers from the Cayman Islands uniformed services - the Royal Cayman Islands Police, Special Constabulary, Fire, and Prison - received the Colonial Long Service Award during a Government House ceremony on Thursday, 24 February.

His Excellency the Governor, Mr. Duncan Taylor, CBE, presented medals for service ranging from nine to thirty years.

Mrs. Marie Taylor was also on hand to present random raffle draws of $150 gift certificates.

Deputy Governor Donovan Ebanks, MBE JP, whose office organises the ceremony, was present, as were Commissioner of Police David Baines, Chief Fire Officer Dennom Bodden, as well as recipients' family, friends and colleagues.

Congratulating the awardees on their lengthy and exemplary service, Mr. Ebanks told them, "These Islands are a better place by virtue of what you do."

The officers and the respective award divisions follow.

The Colonial Fire Brigade Long Service Medal:

(30-Year Clasp) - Deputy Chief Fire Officer-Administration, Rosworth McLaughlin, JP; Senior Divisional Officer- Aerodrome, Craig McCoy; Station Officers Harvey Chisholm and Milford McCoy.

(25-Year Clasp) - Station Officer Michael Ebanks; Sub-officers George Hurlston and Garfield Ritch.

The Colonial Police Long Service Medal:

(25-Year Clasp) - Chief Inspector Patrick Beersingh; Sergeants Dewey Ebanks and Michael Montaque; Constable Trevor Miller.

(18-Year Clasp) - Sergeants Dorris Morris-Herrera and Robert Smith.

The Colonial Prison Long Service Medal:

(25-Year Clasp) - Deputy Director of Prisons, Daniel Greaves; Principal Officers Harvard Gourzong and Percival Williams; Prison Officer Leonard Jervis.

(18-Year Clasp) - Prison Officers Carl Grant and Carley James.

The Colonial Special Constabulary Medal:

(Nine-Year Medal) - Special Sergeants Vincent Davis, Christopher Duggan and Rodney Rivers; Special Constables Festus Lawrence and Pamela Watler.

The event concluded with an informal reception.

This recent presentation recognized the 2009 Colonial Long Service Award recipients, whose ceremony was postponed last year due to inclement weather. Another awards ceremony with take place later this year for the 2010 recipients.


For further information contact: Lennon Christian