Skip navigation

New Members at LRC

New LRC Member, Acting Solicitor General Ms. Vicki Ellis.

The Attorney General, the Hon. Samuel Bulgin, QC, welcomed the new board of the Law Reform Commission at a luncheon at the Grand Old House on Thursday June 9th.

The Attorney General thanked outgoing chairman Mr. Langston Sibblies Q.C for his six years dedicated service with the Commission. Mr. Sibblies will be replaced by Mr. Ian Paget-Brown when he demits office on 18th July, 2011. Mr. Paget-Brown, an attorney of 43 years and published author, has been a member of the Commission for the last 5 years.

Group: Law Reform Commission members with the Attorney General and LRC staff: (L-r): Acting Solicitor General Ms. Vicki Ellis, Mr. Kenneth Farrow, LRC Legislative Counsel Mr. Jose Griffith, Attorney General the Hon. Samuel Bulgin, LRC Director Ms. Cheryl Neblett, Mrs. Eileen Nervik, outgoing Chairman Mr. Langston Sibblies and incoming Chairman Mr. Ian Paget-Brown. Missing is DPP Ms. Cheryll Richards.

Joining the Commission are Acting Solicitor General Ms. Vicki Ellis and Mr. Kenneth Farrow Q.C of Mourant. Ms. Ellis has been a counsel with the CIG Legal Department for a number of years. Her substantive post is that of Deputy Solicitor General. Mr. Farrow is an attorney-at-law of 45 years and has been practising in the Cayman Islands for the past 12 years. Mr. Farrow has a wide and varied career and has, during his more than 30 years practice in the UK, sat as an Assistant Recorder and Recorder trying both civil and criminal cases and was one of the Bar Representatives on the Legal Aid Board between 1988 and 1992. He has also contributed to the Cayman Islands' chapter in Sweet & Maxwell's Special Report on Cross-Frontier Insolvency of Insurance Companies (2001).

The Commission also bade farewell to another of the Commissioners, Mr. Justice Andrew Jones who had served as a member since the establishment of the Commission.

New LRC Member, Mr. Kenneth Farrow, QC, of law firm Mourant

At the luncheon, the Commission discussed its future law reform program which will include reviews of the Defamation Law, the Succession Law, the Wills Law and the Interpretation Law, as well as codification of the duties and responsibilities of company directors and a review of the law regulating enforcement of foreign judgments.

After the departure of Mr. Sibblies on 18th July, 2011, the Commission will comprise the following members-

  • Mr. Ian Paget-Brown, chairman
  • Ms. Cheryll Richards, Q.C, DPP
  • Mrs. Eileen Nervik
  • Ms. Vicki Ellis, Acting Solicitor General
  • Mr. Kenneth Farrow Q.C.