Skip navigation

CILS Students Score

Seen at the University of Vienna, where the mooting competition took place: (L-R) CILS students Jordan Whittingham, Nan Erb, lecturer Andrew Woodcock, students Nassim Give and Jason Clayards

The Cayman Islands Law School moot team has recently returned from competing in the Annual Willem C. Vis International Commercial Arbitration Moot in Vienna, Austria. The team consisted of Nan Erb, Jason Clayards, Jordan Whittingham and Nassim Give. Also accompanying the team was Law School lecturer, Mr. Andrew Woodcock.

The Vis Moot is a forum used to educate and encourage the use of international commercial arbitration as a method of alternative dispute resolution, more specifically, for the resolution of international commercial disputes. Students were required to research the law on international commercial contract disputes, and then present oral arguments before panels of three arbitrators in Vienna.

In attendance at the competition were two hundred and fifty four teams from around the world, consisting of leading law schools such as Harvard, the University of London and Monash University. The Cayman Islands Law School competed against law schools from countries as far ranging as Spain, Brazil, Turkey, Germany and Italy.

The Cayman Islands Law School was the smallest law school in attendance, yet received very favourable comments on both the written submissions and the oral argument. One judge of the written submissions referred to the Cayman Islands Law School written argument as "one of the best in the moot".

Mr Mitchell Davies, Director of the Law School said: "It is particularly pleasing to see students from the Cayman Islands Law School demonstrating to the rest of the world the quality of legal education which is being produced on this island."

The team would like to acknowledge the generous support of the Cayman Islands Law Society, the Caymanian Bar Association, Maples and Calder, and Appleby lawyers, through their establishment of the Jonathon Tarboton Gratitude Fund, established for the funding of international mooting at the Law School, without whom it would not have been possible for the team to participate in an invaluable experience.