Skip navigation


New Gender Equality Tribunal

Members of Cayman's first Gender Equality Tribunal meet with Ministry representatives.
Standing L - R: Andre Ebanks (member), Sheridan Brooks (chairperson), Shaun Cockle (member), Karie Bergstrom (member)

Seated L - R: Tammy Ebanks (member), Hon. Mike Adam, Minister for Community Affairs, Gender and Housing (CAG&H), and Dorine Whittaker, Chief Officer for Ministry of CAG&H

The Ministry of Community Affairs, Gender and Housing has appointed five members to serve on Cayman's first Gender Equality Tribunal (GET).

Appointed by the Governor, the GET is made up of chair, Attorney-At-Law Sheridan Brooks, and members Karie Bergstrom, Shaun Cockle, André Ebanks and Tammy Ebanks. All are equipped with qualifications and experience in fields such as gender issues, social development, human rights or labour as required by the law.

Approved by Cabinet on 31 January -- when the new Gender Equality Law took effect - the Tribunal will hear and determine discrimination complaints.

"After thorough consideration, I am pleased to announce the names of the five qualified individuals who have committed to this initiative," said the Minister responsible for gender affairs, the Hon. Mike Adam. "I am confident that this Tribunal will help improve work environments, so men and women can enjoy equal opportunities."

If you (or someone you know) have reasonable grounds to show that you have been discriminated against on the basis of sex, marital status, pregnancy or gender, a complaint can be made to the Tribunal within six months from the date of the incident.

Look out for more information on how to file a complaint and procedures of the Tribunal soon. To learn about your rights under the new Gender Equality Law, visit


For further information contact: Yvette Cacho