Skip navigation


New Premier Meets Press

Hours after being sworn-in, Premier the Hon. Juliana O'Connor-Connolly, JP, addresses the new Cabinet's first press conference on Wednesday, 19 December. Also shown here are (l-r) Minister of Tourism and Development, Hon. Cline Glidden Jr., JP; Deputy Premier and Minister of Education, Financial Services and Employment, Hon. Rolston Anglin, JP; Minister of Health, Environment, Youth, Sports and Culture, Hon. Mark Scotland, JP, and Minister of Community Affairs, Gender and Housing, Hon. Dwayne Seymour.

Cayman's first female Premier, the Hon. Juliana O'Connor-Connolly, JP and her colleagues in the new Cabinet: Deputy Premier Hon. Rolston Anglin, JP, Ministers Hon. Mark Scotland, JP, Hon. Cline Glidden, Jr. JP, and Hon. Dwayne Seymour held their first press conference late yesterday afternoon (Wednesday, 19 December 2012).

Speaking a few short hours after being sworn in before His Excellency the Governor, Mr. Duncan Taylor, CBE, the team that will govern the Cayman Islands until the May 2013 general election reassured the Cayman Islands public that its management style would be characterised by transparency and consultation.

The change in Government followed the passage of a no confidence motion (11-3, with one abstention) at a special Legislative Assembly meeting on Tuesday, 18 December.

As a result of the vote, all Ministers including the former Premier Hon. W. McKeeva Bush, OBE, JP were deemed to have vacated their office. On Wednesday morning, 19 December the Governor appointed Hon. Juliana O'Connor-Connolly as the new Premier, after declaring himself satisfied that she could form a stable and functioning government.

On the Premier's advice, he appointed a Cabinet of elected Ministers that included Hon. Rolston Anglin, Hon Mark Scotland, Hon. Cline Glidden and Hon. Dwayne Seymour. Ministers Anglin and Scotland were part of the previous Cabinet. Ministers Glidden and Seymour are new appointments.

In addition to the former Premier, the former Minister for Community Affairs Gender and Housing Mike Adam, MBE, JP, lost his Cabinet seat.

To accommodate the new appointments there has been some rearranging of assignments within the civil service for various Chief Officers and their staff.

The Premier's Ministry of Finance, District Administration, Works, Lands and Agriculture gets the services of Chief Officer for Finance, Mrs. Sonia McLaughlin, Cert. Hon. JP, with Mr. Alan Jones, JP, continuing to be responsible for the other departments within the ministry.

Dr. Dax Basdeo, JP, is now attached to the Ministry of Education, Financial Services and Employment, under Minister Anglin. Mrs. Mary Rodrigues, JP, continues to head the ministry's other departments.

Chief Officer Mr. Stran Bodden, JP, is attached to the Ministry of Tourism and Development, now led by Minister Glidden.

Ms Dorine Whittaker, JP, continues as the Chief Officer at the Ministry of Community Affairs, Gender and Housing, which is now headed by Minister Seymour.

Meanwhile both Minister Scotland and Chief Officer Ms Jennifer Ahearn, JP, continue unchanged at the Ministry of Health, Environment, Youth, Sports and Culture.

The new Premier has reassured the civil service that none would lose their jobs because of the Cabinet change.


For further information contact: Bina Mani

Cabinet First Briefing