Skip navigation


CPA Meets in Cayman

Premier Hon. Juliana O'Connor Connolly (front row, centre) and Speaker Hon. Mary Lawrence (front row, second from left) with some of the CPA Executive Committee delegates on the steps of the Legislative Assembly, following the opening ceremony

Members of the Cayman team, led by Premier Hon. Juliana O'Connor Connolly, JP,) warmly welcomed Commonwealth parliamentary delegates from around the world this morning (Monday, 18 March 2013) for a week-long meeting in the Cayman Islands.

The Cayman Islands Branch of the Commonwealth Parliamentary Association (CPA) is hosting the CPA Executive Committee's mid-year meeting from 17 to 22 March.

The 31 delegates include Speakers and Members of Parliament representing Australia, the Bahamas, Cameroon, Canada, Cyprus, Dominica, Ghana, Guernsey, India, Lesotho, Maldives, Malawi, Malaysia, Namibia, Nauru, New Zealand, Norfolk Island, Sierra Leone, Singapore, South Africa, St. Vincent and the Grenadines, Swaziland, Uganda and United Kingdom.

Additionally, eight delegates led by Secretary General Dr. William F. Shija, are representing the CPA secretariat in London. Also in attendance are family and staff members of some of the delegates.

The Premier, who is the current Caribbean and Americas Representative on the CPA Executive Committee (ExCo), noted the English speaking commonality among the diverse nations represented on the ExCo. Members strive for excellence and consider it a privilege to sit at the ExCo table to "ensure democracy is alive and well," the Premier said. "We are on a trail ever upward," she added.

Endorsing the strong parliamentary and democratic history of the Cayman Islands were Speaker and CI Branch President Hon. Mary Lawrence, MBE, JP; CI Branch CPA Co-Vice President and Opposition Leader Hon. Alden McLaughlin, MBE, JP; and father of the CI House, Hon. W. McKeeva Bush, OBE, JP.

Hon. Mninwa Johannes Mahlangu, MP and Chair of National Council of Provinces, South Africa, proposed the vote of thanks.

Enhancing the opening ceremony were a flag-bearing troop from the Cayman Islands Scouts and robust renditions of the National Anthem by Mr. Rudy Myles and the National Song by school girl Miss Jaedyn Hanna. Rev. Mary Graham led the meeting in prayer at the outset.


For further information contact: Bina Mani