Skip navigation


MLAs Sworn in

The new Premier, Hon. Alden McLaughlin, MBE, JP, addresses a huge gathering that braved the rain to hear him speak.

Emphasising the need for inclusion and working together, newly sworn-in Premier, the Hon. Alden McLaughlin, Jr., MBE, JP and leader of the People's Progressive Movement, today (Wednesday, 29 May 2013) lauded the people of the Cayman Islands for a peaceful, orderly and comprehensive election.

An enthusiastic crowd braved the elements to hear the new Premier speak, towards the end of the swearing-in ceremony that had begun some four hours previously at 10.00 am. Eighteen MLAs, including eight first-timers and one back in the House after a four-year gap, took oaths or affirmations administered by His Excellency the Governor, Mr. Duncan Taylor, CBE.

Governor Taylor also lauded the Caymanian people for their robust participation in the elections, which he said were conducted in an exemplary manner.

The ceremony also included a minute's silence in honour of the late Speaker, Hon. Edna Moyle, MBE, JP, whose official funeral is slated to take place on Saturday, 1 June, 2013.

Another election inside the chambers saw the Hon. Juliana O'Connor-Connolly, JP, installed as the new Speaker of the House. This is her second term as Speaker. In her address, the Speaker also called for differences and "egos" to be put away, and for all MLAs to rise to the occasion displaying statesmanship and work collectively for the good of the country.

Former Minister and veteran MLA, Mr. Anthony Eden, OBE, JP was chosen Deputy Speaker.

Mr. McLaughlin leads a Cabinet team that consists of veteran MLA and former Government Leader, Hon. Kurt Tibbetts, OBE, JP; returning MLA and first-time Minister, Hon. Moses Kirkconnell, JP; returning MLA after a one-term gap and first time Minister, Hon. Osbourne Bodden, JP; and first time MLAs and Ministers, Hon. Marco Archer, Hon. Wayne Panton and Hon. Tara Rivers.


For further information contact: Bina Mani