Skip navigation


Ministers' Assignments Named

Premier the Hon. Alden McLaughlin, MBE, JP (centre), with his Cabinet colleagues, announced ministerial and other official assignments, at the new Government's first press briefing at the GIS Studio on Tuesday (4 June 2013). L-r: Ministers Hon. Marco Archer and Hon. Tara Rivers; Deputy Premier and Minister Hon. Moses Kirkconnell, JP; Premier; Ministers Hon. Kurt Tibbetts, OBE, JP; Hon. Wayne Panton and Hon. Osbourne. Seated to the right is Councillor in the Ministry of Education, Employment and Gender Affairs, MLA Mr. Winston Connolly. Councillors not in the picture are MLAs Mr. Joey Hew and Mr. Alva Suckoo.

Premier, the Hon. Alden McLaughlin, MBE, JP, unveiled ministerial, chief officers' and councillors' assignments this afternoon (Tuesday, 4 June 2013).

At the new Government's first press briefing, held at the Government Information Services studio in the Government Administration Building, Mr. McLaughlin also announced that his Government's three backbench members will function as councillors assigned to different areas of responsibility within the ministries.

In the new Cabinet, the Premier will serve as the Minister of Home and Community Affairs. Senior civil servants assigned to the ministry are Chief Officers, Mr. Eric Bush, JP, and Ms Dorine Whittaker, JP. MLA Mr. Alva Suckoo will serve as councillor in the ministry.

Deputy Premier, the Hon. Moses Kirkconnell, JP, is the Minister with responsibility for District Administration, Tourism and Transport. His Chief Officer is Mr. Stran Bodden and MLA Mr. Joey Hew will function as a councillor in this ministry.

Hon. Marco Archer is the new Minister of Finance and Economic Development. His Chief Officer is Mrs. Sonia McLaughlin.

The new Minister of Financial Services, Commerce and Environment is the Hon. Wayne Panton. Dr. Dax Basdeo serves as Chief Officer in this ministry.

Hon. Osbourne Bodden is Minister of Health, Sports, Youth and Culture. The Chief Officer for the ministry is Ms Jennifer Ahearn.

Hon. Kurt Tibbetts is Minister for Planning, Agriculture, Housing and Infrastructure. The Chief Officer for the ministry is Mr. Alan Jones.

The new Minister of Education, Employment and Gender Affairs is the Hon. Tara Rivers. Chief Officer in this Ministry is Mrs. Mary Rodrigues. MLA Mr. Winston Connolly will function as the councillor in this ministry.


For further information contact: Bina Mani