Skip navigation

National Heroes Day

National Heroes Day 2014 logo

National Heroes Day celebrations will honour the achievements, traditions and people of the Cayman Islands at Heroes Square in the heart of George Town on Monday, 27 January 2014, a public holiday.

"On this day, we come together annually to mark the accomplishments and contributions of deserving Caymanians from all walks of life to the Cayman Islands community," Minister of Health, Youth, Sports and Culture, Hon. Osbourne Bodden, said. "This year, we pay a special tribute to our cultural heritage pioneers and we honour persons who have made significant contributions to the on-going development of the Cayman Islands," he added.

The cultural heritage honourees were chosen from nominations sent in by their peers in response to an open nomination process, Chief Officer Ms Jennifer Ahearn, JP, explained. These honours will be made under the categories of Early Pioneer, Pioneer, Emerging Pioneer, Memorial Scroll and Long Service Award.

Differentiating between the terms cultureand cultural heritage, she noted that cultural heritage is defined in dictionaries as relating to the culture, arts and intellectual achievements to the Cayman Islands community. Cayman Islands' culture refers to the arts, crafts and all other manifestations of intellectual achievements of its people viewed collectively as well as the customs, ideas and social behaviour of the people, she said.

Additionally this year, citations for bravery will be presented to five individuals for their "exceptional courage in keeping the Cayman Islands community safe for all citizens," Protocol Coordinator Meloney Syms outlined.

Also Cayman Islands' National Heroes will be recognised, reminding the people about the multi-faceted contributions of the eight stalwarts: Hon. James (Jim) Manoah Bodden; Hon. Sybil Ione McLaughlin, MBE, JP; Hon. Thomas William Farrington, CBE, JP; Hon. Sybil Joyce Hylton, MBE; Hon. Ormond L. Panton, OBE, Hon. Desmond V. Watler, CBE; Hon. Mary Evelyn Wood, Cert. Hon. and Hon. William Warren Connolly, OBE, JP.

Laying of wreaths and a moment's silence will be observed to commemorate deceased heroes and the country's nation builders.

Highpoints of this year's celebrations include a walk-past by school children waving flags, songs by a youth choir and Cayman Folk Singers, a performance by Mrs. Nasaria Suckoo-Chollette as well as a parade comprising the RCIPS band and detachments of RCIPS, Fire Service, Prison Service, Cadet Corps, Girls Brigade, Scouts, Cub Scouts and Seventh Day Adventists Pathfinders.

After the celebrations, cultural heritage displays in the Town Hall and live entertainment and free refreshments in the George Town Public Library car park follow, Ms Syms concluded.

The event at Heroes Square starts at 9 am, with all invited guests asked to be seated by 8.30 am. In the event of rain, the celebrations move to First Baptist Church on Crewe Road (opposite the Lions Centre) starting at 10 am, with all invitees to be seated by 9.30 am. The dress code is business attire.


For further information contact: Bina Mani