Skip navigation


Electoral Boundary Commission Submits Report

Her Excellency the Governor, Helen Kilpatrick, receives the Electoral Boundary Commission final report from Commission Chair Dr. Lisa Handley and Members, Ms Adrianne Webb (right) and Mr. A. Steve McField at Government House today (Thursday, 20 August 2015).

Her Excellency the Governor, Helen Kilpatrick received the final report from the Electoral Boundary Commission on Thursday, 20 August 2015.

The Commission, chaired by Dr Lisa R. Handley, PhD of the United States, included local attorneys Ms Adrianne Webb and Mr. A. Steve McField. While Dr. Handley was appointed by the Governor, Ms Webb was appointed following consultation with the Premier and Mr. McField was appointed following consultation with the Leader of the Opposition.

In preparing their report, Section 88 (7) of the Cayman Islands Constitutional Order (2009) stipulated that Commission members must invite views from members of the public. The constitutional order also directed the Boundary Commissioners to take account of the Cayman Islands' natural boundaries and existing electoral districts. The Commissioners were also guided by the Constitution to ensure, that "so far as is reasonably practicable, across all electoral districts, there will be an equal ratio between the number of elected members of the Legislative Assembly representing each electoral district and the number of persons qualified to be registered as electors in the district".

The submission of the report to the Governor and the Legislative Assembly completes the work of the Commissioners in accordance with Section 89 (1) of the Cayman Islands Constitution Order (2009).

The Governor thanked the Electoral Boundary Commission members for their hard work and long hours as they sought the views of the public on Grand Cayman, Cayman Brac and Little Cayman and went about the technical task of drawing new boundaries.