Skip navigation


New Electoral Districts Gazetted

Government has today (Wednesday, 25 November, 2015), ordered the extraordinary Gazette (No. 92) of the 19 Single Member Electoral Districts Boundaries Order, 2015.

The gazetting of the 19 districts marks the conclusion of the Electoral Boundaries Commission’s exercise and its remit to report its findings to Cabinet.

The independent exercise, which was commissioned by Government late last year, was done in line with the Constitution.

The recommendations of the Commission findings resulted in lawmakers accepting them in the October 2015 sitting of the Legislative Assembly.

Further legislation is being sought to allow the Elections Office to be brought in line with the Commission’s report. These new regulations are set to be in place before the 2017 elections in order for the Office to carry out elections on 19 single member constituencies which will each return one member.

“This is one of the most significant Constitutional and electoral changes this country has ever made,” said Premier Hon. Alden McLaughlin.

For further information contact: Suzette Ebanks