Skip navigation

Court of Appeal New President

Her Excellency the Governor, Helen Kilpatrick, CB is pleased to announce the appointment of Sir John Goldring to the Cayman Islands Court of Appeal.

Throughout April and May 2015, the Judicial and Legal Services Commission carried out a recruitment process whereby the position was advertised internally and existing Justices of the Court of Appeal were given the opportunity to submit expressions of interest. The Judicial and Legal Services Commission ultimately recommended Sir John Goldring as the successful candidate, a recommendation Her Excellency accepted.

Following the end of Sir John Chadwick's tenure as President on 19 January 2016, Sir John Goldring was sworn in via video link by Her Excellency in the presence of the Honourable Chief Justice Anthony Smellie Q.C., Honourable Grand Court Judge Charles Quin Q.C., the Courts Administrator Kevin McCormac and the Registrar of the Court of Appeal Audrey Bodden on 20 January 2016. His term expires on 8 November 2019.

"It is my great honour to appoint Sir John Goldring as President of the Cayman Islands Court of Appeal" the Governor said. "He brings with him many diverse skills and years of valuable experience. I trust he will continue to enhance the work of the Court of Appeal in his new post" she continued.

Sir John Goldring currently serves as Coroner for South Yorkshire (East) and West Yorkshire (West) conducting the fresh inquests into those who died as a result of the Hillsborough disaster. He was appointed Queen's Counsel in 1987 and elected a Bencher in 1996. He was appointed a Recorder in 1987, a Deputy Senior Judge, Sovereign Base Areas, Cyprus from 1991 to 1999, a Deputy High Court Judge in 1996 and a Judge of the Courts of Appeal of Jersey and Guernsey in 1998. He was appointed a High Court Judge (Queen's Bench Division) in 1999; he served as a Presiding Judge for the Midland Circuit from 2002 to 2005 and Commissioner for the Judicial Appointments Commission from 2006 to 2008. He became a Lord Justice of Appeal in 2008, Deputy Senior Presiding Judge of England and Wales from 2008 to 2009 and Senior Presiding Judge of England and Wales from 2010 to 2012.

The Cayman Islands Court of Appeal as constituted:

The Right Honourable Sir John Goldring (President)

The Right Honourable Sir Bernard Rix

The Honourable Sir George Newman

John Martin, QC

The Honourable Sir Richard Field

Justice (Cecil) Dennis Morrison

The Right Honourable Sir Alan Moses