Skip navigation


Writs Issued to Returning Officers

The Elections Returning Officers and Deputies hold up the Writs they received from Her Excellency the Governor, Helen Kilpatrick. Seated l-r: Deputy Supervisors Ernie Scott and Sheena Glasgow, the Governor, Elections Supervisor Wesley Howell and Elections official Mr. Rupert McCoy

Her Excellency the Governor, Helen Kilpatrick, today (Wednesday, 14 December 2016) issued writs to 19 Returning Officers as the next step towards conducting General Elections next year.

At the Government Administration Building at noon, the Governor handed over the writs to the Returning Officers and 6 Deputy Returning Officers in the presence of senior Elections Office officials, led by Supervisor Wesley Howell.

Writs are the documents the Governor issues to the Returning Officers commanding each of them to conduct an election in accordance with Section 28(2) of the Elections Amendment Law (2016).

Serving the writs on the Returning Officers also calls first for nominations of candidates to be held on Wednesday, 29 March 2017 and, next - if necessary (such as when more than one person is nominated as a candidate) - for elections to be held in the 19 electoral districts on 24 May 2017.

Following the election, these writs will be returned to the Governor with the name of the candidate who has been elected to serve in that electoral district, Supervisor Howell explained.

Issuing of the writs sets the stage for the rest of the Elections programme which was formally approved by the Governor earlier this month. The highlights are:

  1. Dissolution of the Legislative Assembly - 28 March 2017
  2. Proclamation Declaring General Elections - 28 March 2017
  3. Nomination Day - 29 March 2017
  4. Election Day - 24 May 2017 and
  5. Elections returns served on the Governor and return of the writs - 29 May 2017.

Once appointed, the Returning Officers are responsible for the organisation and conduct of elections in their respective districts. Their duties include:

The receipt of candidates' nominations;

  1. The establishment and staffing of polling stations;
  2. Provision of elections paraphernalia for polling stations;
  3. Issuing postal ballots;
  4. Training of elections officers (presiding officers/poll clerks);
  5. The conduct of the polling;
  6. The conduct of the scrutiny (vote counting) and
  7. The declaration of the result of each election.

A list of the 19 Returning Officers and the electoral districts they cover follows.

Electoral District - Returning Officer

West Bay North - Burke Omar McLean

West Bay West - Dale James Ramoon

West Bay South - Antoinette Yvette Johnson

West Bay Central - Delano Oliver Solomon

George Town South - Philip Antonio Barnes

George Town West - Melinda Natasha Montemayor

George Town East - Shirley Lynne Whittaker

George Town Central - Paul Henry Richard Smith

George Town North - Michael Albert Nixon

Red Bay - Ida Jane Ebanks

Prospect - Judith Grace Witter

Bodden Town East - Alice Ann Louise Kirchman

Bodden Town West - Haroon Lloyd Pandohie

Savannah - Kim Ann Bullings

Newlands - Ronnie Dale Dunn

East End - Philip Martin Jackson

North Side - Annikki Raakel Brown

Cayman Brac West and Little Cayman - Dave Talbert Tatum

Cayman Brac East - Bentley Leroy (Mark) Tibbetts, Jr.


For further information contact: Bina Mani