Skip navigation

Nine New Prison Officers

Seven men and two women have joined the ranks as our country’s newest prison officers.

Nine new recruits have officially joined the ranks of Her Majesty’s Cayman Islands Prison Service and received their graduation certificates during a commencement ceremony last week.

The seven men and two women have successfully completed ten weeks' training prior to taking up their posts as the Cayman Islands newest prison officers.

The chosen nine out-tested and out-performed 207 other applicants who signed up in September 2016.

Operational Support Grade (OSG) Officers Mr. Tavarist Fowler, Mr. Avery Ebanks, Mr. Derick Johnson, Mr. Lowell Connor, Mr. Dewayne Brown, Ms. Ashley Ebanks, Mr. Gerald Otieno, Mr. Jerome Burrowes and Ms. Tracy-Ann Langford-Bodden received their certificates from the Deputy Governor and Head of Civil Service, Hon. Franz Manderson, at the White House on Tuesday, 30 May 2017.

In all, four Caymanians, four local residents and one permanent residency holder have earned a spot.

Acting Chief Officer for the Ministry of Home Affairs Michael Nixon addressed the graduates and congratulated them on their achievements. Meanwhile Prison Director Neil Lavis proudly welcomed them to the uniformed services family.

Prior to the ceremony, all graduates demonstrated the drills they learned during training. Mr. Manderson and Mr. Lavis even inspected a guard of honour presented by the graduates, which was headed by Prison Officer and Drill Instructor, Mr. Randolph Scott.

Training Manager Steven Hansen selected Mr. Burrowes as the Top Recruit and Best in Drill. The award for Most Improved went to Mr. Connor and Ms. Ebanks.

During the ceremony Custodial Manager Maxine Passley received her promotion pin, with Director Lavis and Human Resource Manager Raquel Solomon placing the signature epaulettes on her uniform to mark her advancement to the rank of Manager.

Mr. Burrowes gave the commencement speech during the graduation and Mr. Ebanks gave the vote of thanks at the end of the ceremony.

For further information contact: Jamie Hicks