

NATIONAL SECURITY COUNCIL OF THE CAYMAN ISLANDS – POST MEETING SUMMARY

Her Excellency the Governor Mrs. Jane Owen, chaired the meeting of the National Security Council held on Tuesday, 3rd September 2024 in the Cabinet Conference Room, Government Administration Building.

All Members of the National Security Council were present.

At this meeting the National Security Council:

- Received a presentation from the Strategic Reforms Implementation Unit on their work with key stakeholders in their review of the Anti-Gang strategy and presented recommendations in relation to problem profile and key stakeholder engagement report. Council was advised that existing initiatives were assessed, noting their strengths and successes, as well as gaps and challenges that exist. Council was supportive of the holistic approach and the multi-agency cooperation and coordination approach.
- Commissioner of Police provided Council with an update on crime statistics, along with serious crime incidents that occurred since the last meeting. Council noted its support and appreciation for the work of the Commissioner and the RCIPS for their continued commitment in keeping our communities safe.
- Director of Customs and Border Control provided Council with an update advising on arrests of travelers coming into or leaving the Islands in possession of illegal or controlled substances, Council agreed that messaging is necessary to ensure that all visitors to the Islands are fully informed of what can and cannot be brought into the Islands during their visit.

Published by the Cabinet Office.

Guidance Notes:

- 1. The National Security Council is established under section 58 of the Cayman Islands Constitution Order (as amended).
- 2. NSC Members are as follows: Her Excellency the Governor Mrs. Jane Owen (Chair); Hon. Juliana O'Connor-Connolly, Premier; Hon. Andre Ebanks, Deputy Premier; Hon. Sabrina Turner, Minister; Hon. Franz Manderson, Deputy Governor; Hon. Samuel Bulgin, KC, Attorney General; Hon. Roy McTaggart, Leader of the Opposition, Mr. Kurt Walton, Commissioner of Police; Mr. Gilbert McLean, civil society representative; and Mr. Christopher Philips, civil society representative.
- 3. Post meeting summaries will be published by the Cabinet Office following a meeting of the National Security Council.

- 4. Only a summary of the decisions will be published.
- 5. National Security Council discussions will not be disclosed.
- 6. Summaries of decisions of a sensitive nature, matters of national security, those where publication breaches regional or international conventions and those relating to personal privacy will not be disclosed.
- 7. Post meeting summaries will be available on gov.ky and the Cayman Islands Government's digital channels.

