The Governor's Office

The Governor is His Majesty The King's representative in the Cayman Islands and acts as the de facto Head of State. The Governor also has key reserved areas of responsibility which contribute to the overall safety and wellbeing of the Cayman Islands. These reserved areas are defence, external affairs, internal security (including the Police and Regiment) and good governance. The Governor also appoints the Head of Government and other senior officials to public office.

Mrs Jane Owen was appointed to the Cayman Islands in December 2022. 

Jane was educated at Ellerslie School in Malvern, and Trinity College, Cambridge (BA Hons in Russian, French and German). She was born in Bilston in the West Midlands.

Jane married David Donnelly in 1998.  He died in 2017.  They have two children, Phoebe (aged 23) and James (aged 21).

Jane Owen

Curriculum Vitae

2017 to 2023                  

HM Ambassador to the Swiss Confederation and non-resident Ambassador to Liechtenstein

2014 to 2016                 

Deputy CEO and Chief Operating Officer, UK Trade and Investment (UKTI)

2010 to 2014                

HM Ambassador to Norway

2006 to 2010             

Director, Trade, Finance, Science and Climate Change, British High Commission, New Delhi, India

2002 to 2006             

Director of Trade Promotion, British Embassy, Tokyo, Japan

1998 to 2001             

Deputy Head of Mission, British Embassy, Hanoi, Vietnam

1996 to 1998             

Head of Mediterranean and Asia Section, European Union Department, FCO

1993 to 1996            

Head of Exports to Japan Unit, Department of Trade and Industry

1990 to 1993            

Second Secretary (Commercial), British Embassy, Tokyo, Japan

1988 to 1990            

Japanese Language Training, FCO

1987 to 1988          

Latin-American Department, FCO

Follow HE the Governor on Social Media:

Contact Us


Suite 101
Government Administration Building
133 Elgin Avenue
Grand Cayman KY1-9000


Tel: (345) 244-2431


Office Hours:
Monday to Thursday - 8:00 am to 4:30 pm
Friday - 8:00 am to 12:30 pm